Annual Conference Voting

As we approach the Free Methodist Church in Southern California (FMCSC) Annual Conference 2024, we’re committed to ensuring a seamless and inclusive voting process for our board and committee elections. This year, we’re introducing Ranked Choice Voting (RCV) to enhance representation and choice. Here’s everything you need to know to participate in the voting process.

The Nomination Process

Our Nominating Committee has diligently collected recommendations for new board and committee members from delegates and voting members across the conference. Each candidate has been thoroughly evaluated to present you with the best choices for our community’s leadership.

The Nominees

We’ve compiled a list of qualified candidates nominated for the available positions within our conference boards and committees. We understand you might not be familiar with every nominee. For detailed information on each candidate’s qualifications and to make an informed decision, please visit below.

2024 Voting Results

We are pleased to announce the results of the 2024 elections for the Free Methodist Church in Southern California’s boards and committees. Voting took place online prior to Annual Conference using a Ranked Choice Voting system. The newly elected and re-elected members will serve crucial roles in guiding our conference over the coming years. Please join us in congratulating them and praying for wisdom as they fulfill these important responsibilities.

Board of Administration - Lay
  • Denise Edmond (2026 – replacing Sharon Bishop)
  • Jim Jenkins (2027)
  • Daryoush Nik Andjam (2027 – replacing George Garcia)
  • Wendy Seyfert (2027)
Board of Administration - Ministerial
  • Adrian Greer (2027)
Finance Committee - Lay
  • Jenn Brasington (2027)
  • Doug Jones (2027)
Finance Committee - Ministerial
  • John Rittenhouse (2027)
Ministerial Appointments Committee - Lay
  • Juan Ixcoy (2027 – replacing Serena Oriero)
  • Martin Silva (2027)
Ministerial Education & Guidance - Lay
  • TK Erickson (2027)
  • Lisa Rittenhouse (2027)
  • Patricia Simpson (2026 – replacing Amy Cuthbert)
Ministerial Education & Guidance - Ministerial
  • Donna Marshall (2026 – replacing Natalia Alvarez)
  • Kasey Martin (2027)
  • Kari Morris-Guzman (2027)
  • Kelly Roth (2027)
Nominating Committee - Lay
  • Sandra Escobar-Lopez (2027)
Nominating Committee - Ministerial
  • Joe Alvarez (2027)
  • Briana Greer (2027)

Voting Instructions

Voting Period: April 29 – May 10, 2024

Device Compatibility

Feel free to vote using either a mobile device or desktop. Just ensure you have your voter email and PIN handy.

Prepare Your Voter ID

Check your email for a unique delegate email address and voter PIN. Missing your email or PIN? Please contact us immediately.

Access the Voting Platform

Visit our designated online voting portal, entering your delegate email and PIN to access your ballot.

Rank Your Choices

Utilizing the new Ranked Choice Voting system, select candidates in order of your preference. Please rank every candidate.

Finalize Your Vote

Once you’ve made your selections, submit your ballot. Remember, the process must be completed in one session, and resubmissions are not allowed.

Note: Voting happens exclusively online before the conference event. This ensures every voice is heard, even if you’re unable to attend in person.

Understanding Ranked Choice Voting

Ranked Choice Voting (RCV), also known as Preferential Voting, allows voters to rank candidates in order of preference, rather than selecting a single candidate. This approach ensures that the elected representatives are chosen with a broader consensus, reflecting a more accurate representation of our community’s preferences.

Voter Empowerment

RCV gives you the flexibility to rank all candidates from your most preferred to least preferred, ensuring your vote is counted in the most representative manner.

Enhanced Representation

By requiring a candidate to achieve a majority (50%+ of first-preference votes), RCV ensures that elected officials represent a broader spectrum of our community.

Efficient and Fair

This method is especially fair and useful when traditional repeat balloting is impractical due to time constraints or the electronic nature of our voting.

The Rationale Behind the Change

Following the latest guidelines from Robert’s Rules of Order and recognizing the constraints of a single-day conference, RCV presents the most equitable and effective method for our elections. It allows greater choice and voice for our voters, aligning with our values of democratic fairness and representation.

How It Works

Voting Process

Voters will rank candidates for a position from their most preferred (1) to least preferred. For example, if there are seven candidates for two open positions, each voter ranks these candidates from 1 to 7.

Counting Votes

If no candidate achieves a 50% threshold of first-preference votes initially, the candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated. Votes for the eliminated candidate are then redistributed to the next preferred candidates on those ballots. This process repeats until a candidate meets the 50% threshold and is elected.

Multiple Seats

For multiple open positions, the process is repeated for subsequent seats, with the ballots adjusted to exclude previously elected candidates.

Your Voice, Amplified

Ranked Choice Voting is more than a new voting system; it’s a step towards more dynamic and representative leadership within the Free Methodist Church. As we prepare for the 2024 Annual Conference, we’re committed to ensuring that every voter’s voice is heard and valued through this more inclusive and expressive voting method.